Steven Huesing Scholarship

The Steven Huesing Scholarship was established in 1999 in recognition of the contribution that the late Steven Huesing, COACH Founding President, made to the association. The scholarship was developed to reflect the spirit, dedication and innovation that the Founding President brought to the field of health informatics (HI).

The scholarship consists of:

  • A cash honorarium of $1,000;
  • A one-year COACH Student Membership;
  • A Student Registration for the next e-Health conference.

Nominations are closed for 2015. COACH thanks all nominees and nominators.

Applications must specifically address all the following criteria and incomplete applications will not be considered. The applicant should:
  • Be of sound academic standing (See Application Requirements below);
  • Demonstrate active involvement and achievement in HI; and
  • Show how his/her educational work has made a recognized contribution to advancing the thinking in HI.
Scholarship applications are accepted from any student currently enrolled in a health informatics (HI) or related program at an accredited post-secondary institution.
Application Requirements
The following must be submitted with the application:
  • A transcript of marks;
  • An assessment by an academic advisor;
  • Proof of enrollment in and current attendance at a recognized Canadian post-secondary institution in a HI or related program;
  • Description of the applicant's involvement and achievements in health informatics (written submission of 500 words).
The 2015 scholarship will be presented at the CHIA Gala during the e-Health 2015 Conference in Toronto June 2, 2015.

2014 Winner: Helen Monkman, PhD candidate in Health Information Science, University of Victoria

Previous recipients
  • Helen Monkman, 2014 Graduate
  • Alex Lee, 2012 Undergraduate
  • Samuel Stewart, 2012 Graduate
  • Thivaher Paromsothy, 2011 Undergraduate
  • Justin St. Maurice, 2011 Graduate
  • Ashley Wilson, 2010 Undergraduate
  • Pavel Roshanov, 2010 Graduate
  • Mu-Hsing (Alex) Kuo, 2009
  • Tracey Fisher, 2008
  • Dr. Samina Raza Abidi, 2007
  • Katrina Hurley, 2006
  • Elizabeth Borycki, 2005
  • Warren Winkleman, 2004
  • Craig Kuziemsky, 2003
  • Katherine Reed, 2002
  • Shaina Hood, 2001
  • Julie Kim, 2000

© 2015 Canadian Health Informatics Awards (CHIA) Gala. All rights reserved.